An Irish Airman Foresees His Death By W. B. Yeats

“I know that I shall meet my fate

Somewhere among the clouds above;

Those that I fight I do not hate,

Those that I guard I do not love”

The poem “An Irish Airman Foresees His Death” by W. B. Yeats is a very eye opening poem.  This poem talks about how a pilot who was fighting for Italy knew he wasn’t  going to make it.  The part of the poem that was the most impactful to me was the part where he says “those that I fight I do not hate those, those that i guard i do not love”.  This just shows you how the soldiers don’t hate the people they are fighting against they are only doing so because their country needs them or because they volunteer to do so.  It also shows that they don’t always love their country or their people but they still fight and protect them anyway.  A lot of soldiers don’t even want to be part of the war but they don’t have much of a choice if the country forces them to fight.  Farther in the poem he goes on to say that it doesn’t even really matter whether or not his country wins it wouldn’t change their country in anyway.  So this goes on to show that he is also fighting just because he feels like it even though he doesn’t necessarily need to.

Leave a Reply

